I want to be a televangelist! No, really……

Image

There are few things I love more in life than Reckless Kelly and reality television. In what can only be described as divine intervention, I think I’ve come up with a way to bring these two things together that will be beneficial to all involved.

See, I want to start a reality show, starring me, in which I travel the country with Reckless, acting as a goodwill ambassador and evangelist for the band. Sure, there are street teams and such, but who wouldn’t want to get some backstage insight into the world of a hard working, hard rocking, road weary band and the people who love them? Or even better….watching people fall in love with them!

I see the first episode showing me telling my boss that I’m quitting my job to go on the road, inter cut this with scenes of the band’s pre-road rituals, sexy things like laundry and such. Then we are all simply on the road. The band and I are both in the honeymoon period of the trip. All that anticipation of what’s to come bubbling up. Only smiles and excitement. I already am working on a playlist for this montage. I’d be the music supervisor for the show….saving production costs already!

Once we arrive at the first stop, there is a bit of a “travel guide” portion of the show. I live to do research on where to go in new places and love to share this info with others. I will visit all sorts of cultural venues, bars and such. Eat the best food possible, never losing sight of my main goal….adding to the RK fan base. If you get me started talking about them, good luck getting me to stop. If someone isn’t at least vaguely interested in an event that can make one girl so dang happy….then good riddance, we don’t want you there anyway.

The goal in each town will to have at least 5 RK “virgins” come to the show. They won’t have to pay to get in….my first show was free and I’ve been paying ever since. Once at the venue they will be schooled in appropriate beverages to order, (whiskey or beer are always good) how to move through a tight crowd to the front of the stage and important lyrics and dance moves. Gotta know that you jump like a pogo stick during “Nobody’s Girl” and all of the lyrics to the final verse of “Crazy Eddie.” Most likely these folks will love the Beatles, The Who, Buddy Miller, Steve Earle and their ilk….so they will be able to hang during any covers the band may come up with.  When the lights come up and the new kids catch their breath, there will be a set of questions that will be asked to each. These inquiries will be skillfully written to confirm their new love of RK and to both encourage others to love the band as well as encourage the band to keep on trucking. It’s a huge win/win.

Post show, if bus call time allows and the new fans have proven to be worthy, there will be some hang time with the band. Never all 5 at once….that simply doesn’t happen enough for new people to think that’s how it is. Random pairings of band members will share their witty personalities and random insights with these people, further solidifying their new found love.

At this point we will all part ways. The new fans will go home to check out the tour dates to see when they can next see RK. I will go to the hotel and write a recap of the evening with some personal touches (a la Doogie Howser) and the band will hit the road on it’s way to the next stop.

I won’t travel with the band, but we will have occasion to meet up in places and experience cities together as well as check on on how we all feel about the progress of achieving World RK Domination.

My talent fee will be nominal. I will need to be able to have Noodle with me….but really, that benefits everyone. There needn’t be a huge production team. Handhelds and on dash cameras will suffice for most. Much of the budget will come in editing. But we won’t edit for drama….we will edit for truth.

I really think I’m on to something here. Who’s with me?!??!?!?!

Leave a Reply

