We make plans, God laughs…

….or something like that.

When I think back to when I was a little girl, I recall having some very clear ideas of how life would be for me when I was a “grown up.” I don’t remember exact details anymore…but I know that I figured my twenties would be filled with finding the man I would marry and possibly start on our little family. By my thirties I would have a couple of kids, a great job that fulfilled me intellectually and also allowed me plenty of time to spend with my family. I probably assumed that I would have a house, mostly as a result of my husband’s income.

Here I am, 36. Single. Mother to a wonderful cat and a silly dog. Owner of my first home.

It should be noted that the flamingos are gone.

I love my little house. Each day I become more and more excited about it. I can’t wait to get my stuff in it. To put my art on the walls. To have lazy mornings sitting on the back porch watching Noodle run around. To have all night Wii tournaments. To plant things in my flower beds. To look for special items to decorate my home and make it so much more then just where I live, but where I thrive.

Living in Southern California for as long as I did, I never thought homeownership was much of a possibility. The real estate market of Nashville changed all that. Affordable homes. Established neighborhoods. Yards. All within my reach. Many people thought I should get a condo so I didn’t have to worry as much about maintenance, etc….but for me, a condo was an apartment with a tax break. I would much rather no longer share walls with my neighbors. I have lived in multi-family dwellings of some sort for 90% of my life. If I was going to make a huge financial investment, I was going to buy a house.

So buy a house I did. Three bedrooms, two bathrooms, a big ‘ol backyard, a huge storage shed, a little deck begging for patio drinks. A great place for me to bloom.  I have always been one to “bloom where I was planted.” Lots of moving around during childhood had me getting replanted many times….but I tried to always make the best of it. Now, and for the past 10 years, I have been choosing my spots in the garden of life. But I have always just chosen nice “pots”….temporary places that weren’t really mine and I wasn’t ultimately responsible for. No more. I am planting myself and letting my roots grow deep.

And I couldn’t be more excited about it if I tried!

2 thoughts on “We make plans, God laughs…

  1. And I couldn’t be more excited for you. Or proud 🙂 And I must say selfishly, that it means you’re not going to pick up and move to Austin any time soon!

Leave a Reply

