Solitary Freedom

or “This is why Heather doesn’t like to go out much these days”

For at least 86% of my life I have been single.  I’m an only child. I’ve had a select few relationships that lasted more then a couple of weeks. It would seem that flying solo would be my forte. In some ways, it is.

However, at 35, the idea of hitting the town alone doesn’t hold the same allure it might say, in college, etc… I’m not talking about going to a bar alone or things like that, never been my thing. I’m talking about driving alone to a venue, walking in alone, meeting up with some friends and then ultimately going home alone.

Being alone at home is one thing. Being alone in public is a whole other world. Walking from my car to the door of a bar, restaurant, what have you is like ‘Dead Girl Walking’, for me anyway.

“Will anyone I know be there already or will I be forced to sit alone trying to not stare at the door hoping it’s a friendly face?”

“What if everyone decided to cancel and no one told me?”

‘Did I get the time right?”

“What if everyone has been there for awhile and could care less that I show up?”

“What if there isn’t a chair for me and I have to go searching for one or stand there like an idiot”

I could go on and on with the questions that go through my head at this point. I can say that I’ve never turned around and gone home at this point, but I’ve been tempted…..

The actual social event is usually fine. I vascilate between being super social to being super quiet….rarely entering the grey area between. Since my days of getting falldown drunk are basically behind me, there comes a time in the evening when I start thinking about going home.

“Do I want to be the first to go home?”

“Do I want to be the last to go home?”

“Should I wait to leave with someone else so I can kind of ‘sneak’ out?”

“Can I convince someone to leave at the same time so the ‘being alone’ doen’t start immediately?”

Again, there are a million other questions that go through my anxious little mind. I used to get really drunk so someone would either have to drive me home or let me stay at their place….healthy huh? Sometimes I stay sober so I can leave early, as though I feel superior for not getting silly drunk, and then hear about everything I missed later. It wears me out.

The loneliest I ever feel is driving home after being with friends.  Their voices ring in my ears. I think of witty things I should have said. I cringe at stupid things I said but shouldn’t have. I secretly wish that someone will call me and invite me back out or just want to keep talking to me. Pitiful much?

So, there is a little insight into why I go into hermit mode from time to time. It’s so much harder to be a single, never married 35 year old woman then I ever imagined. Don’t get me wrong, I am happy with the vast majority of my life. But sometimes, just sometimes, the loneliness I feel is beyond explanation.

Ok, no more pity party, back to our regular programming.

One thought on “Solitary Freedom

Leave a Reply

