I’ve got a secret

Confession time.

This could be a shock to some. But probably not to anyone who reads this.

I’m a …………..LIBERAL.

I would say Democrat, but I think the two party system is divisiveand antiquated. But Liberal I’m fine with. However, I keep this under wraps a lot of the time. If I don’t know someone’s opinions on things, I won’t bring up possibly controversial topics. It’s the Mid-westerner in me, don’t like to ruffle feathers. If I know we don’t share views on politics, I don’t feel the need to talk about it. Nothing either one of us is going to say is going to change the other person’s mind…not at this point.

Perhaps it’s just my perception, but I feel like Conservatives/Republicans are more free with sharing their opinions. But maybe it is simply another language phenomenon, such as when people speak in a foreign language, it sounds so much louder.

I love America, but like many of the things, people, etc…that I love, it’s got problems. Admitting those problems and wanting to fix them does not make me less patriotic. I think America is an amazing place to live, but I don’t think that others who don’t live here are less then as a result. I am proud and fortunate to have been born in America, but understand that most of the advantages to living here are a result of the hard work of those who weren’t born here. 

I believe in freedom, but I know it’s anything but free. That said, I would like to see the country be concerned about the freedom of OUR citizens, not those of other countries. I want our military home, and not just because I like to look at military boys, but because I hate the idea of people dying for something that no one really understands and is completely unjustified.

I believe in love. I believe that anyone who is fortunate enough to find love in their life with someone they want to spend the rest of their life with should be able to do so and reap the benefits that come with that, even if it’s just social acceptance and being able to be in a hospital room with your loved one.

I believe in choice and have an almost impossible time understanding how anyone can think that “choice” is a dirty word. Every person should have control of what they do with their body. I’m not talking about abortion exclusively, although safe and legal abortions are crucial, I’m talking about choice as to what I can do at any time to my body. I fear that if the government feels it can tell me that I can’t end a pregnancy, it will tell me that I can’t try a experimental drug or get birth control because I’m single and shouldn’t be having sex. It’s a slippery slope….and my balance isn’t good.

I believe in America. I believe that we are a country of dreamers. I believe that we are a country of folks who can get things done. But I mostly believe we are a country that can, and most importantly SHOULD, embrace change. Wouldn’t we all rather be the kid on the playground who is popular for being nice, not feared? I would…but then again, popularity is something I’ve always wanted. We Americans are like that.

Leave a Reply

