A Busy Mind

This time of year is always interesting. It seems like there is so much more going on and so many more things to do, people to see, etc.

It all makes for a busy, busy mind. From my dad’s b-day to New Year’s Eve, it’s a series of events and functions, multiple December b-days, including my own, holiday parties, excuses for friends to get together, and other random things that pop up out of nowhere.

For example, I have a baby shower to go to this weekend. I’m actually really excited about this shower–which is odd for me. The mom to be is a dear person who will be a super cool mom. Over the past year she has become a pretty cool addition to my life.  It is odd to think that just a year ago she was dating a friend of mine and I hardly knew her. My friend is NOT the father of the baby–although I am friends with the father. I adore both of them and can’t wait for that little boy they made to grace us with his presence.

I was invited to a birthday party this weekend also—yeah, I’m popular.  This one has a “Dallas” theme–the TV show. I adore the birthday girl. Her boyfriend is one of the best guys I know. The only thing that is making me wonder if I will go to this party (other then the idea of busting out some shoulder pads) is that I don’t know who else will be there.  I’m thinking a “former friend” of mine will. I will admit….it intimidates me.  He and I used to be like peanut butter and jelly–always together.  I actually met the birthday girl through him.  Now, we don’t speak. Lots of things happened. I’ve tried to make some peace, it hasn’t been acknowledged. We’re civil to each other–but that is about it.  There are so many things I’d like to talk to him about. Our shared interest in the movie “Once.” What he thought of the new Bob Dylan movie. How the hell he’s doing in general. But I need to get over thinking that will happen. Even my relationships with gay men get complicated!!!! So, do I go to this party, by myself, armed only with shoulder pads and big hair and try to be enough of a social butterfly that I make new friends? Or do I stay at home simply because I am afraid of an old friend?

There is also the subject of my work crush.  I was out of the office all last week and he is out this week and next.  So sad. All I have to remember him by right now is how he put his arm around me and playfully punched my shoulder when I told him I hated some copy he wrote (I didn’t know he wrote it when I said I hated it….but I do hate it). I looked him straight in the eyes and I’m telling you, we lingered there a tad too long. I can make something like that last for three weeks…..but did he even notice.

I’m telling you, my mind is a mess. I need to go Christmas shopping—although I have no idea what I’m getting anyone. I need to get a haircut, although I want a new hairdresser and have no idea what I want done. I need to go get my tags renewed, but I don’t want to take my lunch time to drive to Green Hills. I need to get a super cute outfit for my b-day, but I have no idea what that could be.

We won’t even go into the pile of papers on my desk or the decorating I need to do to my office.

Is this REALLY the most wonderful time of the year?

3 thoughts on “A Busy Mind

  1. Of course it’s the most wonderful time of the year…

    As soon as I slow down from parties, social events, a mountain of stuff at work and all the other stuff going on, I will get around to enjoying it…I think I’ve got Dec. 23rd from 3-4 p.m open for that…

Leave a Reply

