The falsehood of mirrors

I saw a title of a blog that said “The beauty the mirrors don’t reflect.” It was categorized under “religion” and as a result didn’t interest me as I am not in the mood to read about anyone’s religion today.

It made me think though.  I don’t think mirrors EVER reflect beauty. At least no mirrors I look in.  This isn’t a “poor me, I’m not a total hottie” post, quite the opposite.  When I look in mirrors I tend to be looking for flaws, or looking to see that I have primped and prodded and covered and contorted myself so that physical issues are not as pronounced.  The times I have seen beauty in a mirror was more because I saw myself as happy. I noticed I was standing taller or had a flirtier look on my face or some other random thing like that.

True beauty is really reflected all around…just rarely in mirrors. Next time you are out with a group of friends or just one friend, catch the beauty reflected in the windows, or the silverware, or the glasses or the happiness in your friends’ faces.  Say something silly or stupid (intentional or not) and see your beauty reflected in the laughter on someone else’s face. Beauty has so little to do with hair, clothes and makeup, but so much more to do with personality and strength and courage and weakness and openness.

A friend told me I looked beautiful this past weekend. As I am wont to do, I said something that completely disagreed with him or pointed out how I was a sweaty as a whore in church and my hair was a disaster, etc…. He argued with me and said that there was no way that anyone who was as happy as I was at that moment could be anything but beautiful.  It’s times like that I wish I could see myself through other people’s eyes.  I think I miss the good things about myself a lot of the time.  I think most people miss the good things about themselves a lot of the time.

Earlier in the week I was out with some friends at a bar.  We were on the patio since Noodle was with me. My intentions had been to stop by to wish someone happy birthday, drop off a gift certificate I had to the bar for the group to share and be on my way.  I figured no one would be all hyped on sitting outside with me and my dog.  Slowly but surely, they all came out and we took over the patio.  I know that the main draw was Noodle, he’s so dang cute and all, but it ended up that it was more important that we were all together having a good time then it was to be sitting in our favorite booth inside where one of us (me in this case) couldn’t be.  THAT is beauty to me.

Physical beauty is so subjective and so fleeting. I tend to find beauty in “less then lovely” things and sometimes people.  Show me quirks and flaws and idiosyncrasies and I’m all over it. The beauty from these things can’t be reflected in a mirror, it can only be reflected through understanding and appreciation.

Today, and as many days as possible, I will try to catch the reflection of my beauty. I will try to reflect the beauty of my friends. Seems like a worthy goal, no?

2 thoughts on “The falsehood of mirrors

  1. I love this post. You are absolutely right.

    You know, I adore Chris Wage‘s photography because his photos of people reflect that same beauty you talk of. For so long, I’ve wanted him to take a picture of me, just because I’d love to see me looking beautiful just once. In a real way.

  2. “You’re beautiful, you’re beautiful, it’s true. I saw your face in a crowded place…”

    Oh. I’m sorry. Just wanted to quote your favorite musician. I know you’re into lyrics and that type of thing.

    Seriously though…you ARE!

Leave a Reply

