The Power of a Positive Workplace

For five years of my life I had a job I hated. I liked what I did and I liked who I worked with, I even liked the clients….but I hated the person I worked for. Think of the most evil person you can and this guy would be their evil twin. It was a very unhealthy situation that lead to physical and emotional problems that I wouldn’t wish on anyone.

That situation ended for me at the beginning of this year and I can’t begin to explain how wonderful it has been.  I have been told that I don’t even look like the same person anymore….as a compliment. I’m not naive enough to think that my current place of employment is perfect, I know that it is not, but it is pretty fantastic.

There is a fun atmosphere here that not only is not frowned upon by management, but is encouraged! It’s advertising. You’ve got lots of creative types around. You work people to death. They deserve to have a party every couple of weeks with beer provided by the agency.  What office wouldn’t benefit from forming groups to make a vespa out of playdough and pipecleaners? What building wouldn’t be made more fun with a fire pole?

What really strikes me is the way that people treat each other here. A few weeks ago one of my co-worker’s husbands was killed in a car accident.  The whole agency was somber–even though few of us knew her that well.  We took up a collection of money, she was told to take as much time off as she needed–with pay, when she came back people started including her in all sorts of little activities, just to take care of her.  When my grandmother passed away, I told only my boss.  Within 30 minutes I had received countless hugs in the hallway and emails of support. It just kinda makes you feel all warm and fuzzy.

It’s not only the bad times where folks come together.  A couple of folks who work here got married this past weekend. If the agency were high school, they would SO be the cool kids.  A woman in my department was paging the new Mrs. and stumbled on her new last name.  The whole building sort of chuckled.  Then the new Mr. got on the paging system and said he really liked the sound of that new name.  We all cheered.

Sometimes I tell stories about my new job and they sound like fairy tales.  With a company that is more than10 times larger than my previous employer, you would think that it would seem less personal, but it’s not.  There is some back biting and snippiness. There are endless, meaningless meetings and decisions made by management that are confusing as hell, but in the end, it’s a damn good place to be and I’m incredibly thankful that I am here now. I’m pretty sure that if I was still at my old job …well….I don’t even want to think about that.

3 thoughts on “The Power of a Positive Workplace

  1. […] Heather is happy where she’s at. For five years of my life I had a job I hated. I liked what I did and I liked who I worked with, I even liked the clients….but I hated the person I worked for. Think of the most evil person you can and this guy would be their evil twin. It was a very unhealthy situation that lead to physical and emotional problems that I wouldn’t wish on anyone. […]

  2. It seems that almost anyone who has ever worked in advertising in Nashville has worked here…so it’s probably true. I’m enjoying the honeymoon period 🙂

Leave a Reply

