Yet another post about what I am looking for in a boy/relationship.

A friend and I got into a conversation about what one looks for in a relationship.  I claimed that I didn’t really know what I was looking for anymore. Their response was this:

Don’t you want a companion that is also your best friend?  That’s my main goal.  I like having a warm body around to tell my mundane stories about my day to.  Someone who actually cares that I hit only 2 stoplights on the way home.  Stuff like that.  That’s what’s best about any relationship, I think.  That and good cuddle time!

Reading those words it hit me that what I am looking for is exactly that! Companionship and nookie. Someone who notices that I tend to wear the same outfits on the same days of the week. Someone who will pick up my prescriptions for me. Someone I can make dinner for. Someone who I can write silly notes to that will think they are romantic and cute. Someone who will surprise me by showing up at my office with my dog and a picnic lunch, or who I can surprise with the same thing. Someone I can buy cute t-shirts for in the boy’s section.  Someone who lets me pick out their boxers for them. Someone who will think it’s funny when they slip into my dreams or when every song  I hear I relate to them.

So there you have it. Dark hair, guitar and angst are optional. Sense of humor is not optional. Creative skills are optional (well, I mean like artistic–“creativity” in other arenas is always appreciated-heh heh heh). Passion is not optional.

3 thoughts on “Yet another post about what I am looking for in a boy/relationship.

  1. I found a quote that I think is very appropriate to what you’re talking about here…

    BY: CHUCK PALAHNIUK
    “What I want is to be needed. What I need is to be indispensable to somebody. Who I need is somebody that will eat up all my free time, my ego, my attention. Somebody addicted to me. A mutual addiction.”

  2. There was this “Internet bumper sticker” I saw on a message board years ago….”Love is friendship set on fire.”

    And that’s what I want…the whole friendship set on fire thing.

    I want to find someone who at least understands why I get all excited when they find ten seconds of lost Dr Who footage and I can’t wait to see it…and that I can share her passion for whatever things are out there she’s passionate about. Someone to call to celebrate a minor victory or to agonize together over a minor defeat…someone who surprises me and me her, just because…

    Someone to just talk to about stuff and not worry she’s going to think–man, what a freak this guy is.

Leave a Reply

