Funny comes when you least expect it

So, I was trolling myspace (what else should a gal with a wicked cough and no desire to leave the house be doing?) and came across this comment on a friend’s page:

married life is just how i expected it to be………….more t.v. watching and less sex.
thank god for cable and expensive sheets or i’d be getting a divorce.

I don’t know the person who left the comment, but I think I love them. They have expressed my deepest fears about marriage, my love for good sheets and cable and a snarky attitude in two brief lines.  Genius I say, genius.

I’ve spent this weekend at home, doing nothing but coughing and sleeping. My furry friends are tired of being around me and I can’t say that I blame them.  Currently the new Kimora Lee Simmons show is on my TV for at least the 4th time (thank god for a new episode tonight!) and the MTV gods took pity on me and had a “The Hills” marathon yesterday. Wow, re-reading that makes it sound even more pitiful then it really is–WHATEV!

My illness coincided with some pre-paycheck poverty, so there’s my silver lining.  All this time with non-humans has given me time to think about the humans that are in my life.  I came across this quote the other day and it rings so true in so many ways;

There are two ways of spreading the light: to be the candle or the mirror that reflects it.
— Edith Wharton

I tend to think I am the mirror.  Being the candle would seem to be outside of my area of expertise.  I’m just not the burning bright for all the world to see type.  However, I like to surround myself with candles.  Creative people who live lives I will never understand, but enjoy watching.  Young, vibrant people who are so open to new experiences that it makes me smile to just think about them. Quiet, thoughtful types who can be the craziest people I know. Heck, I even know a cool ass accountant…I mean really, how can I compete with that?!?!?

So I will be happy with my status as a mirror. I wish that some of the people in my life could see themselves through my mirror. These amazing folks who live their lives as they want, have fears and hopes and dreams, and from time to time need a little encouragement to let their “freak flags” fly (and some need encouragement to put their’s away 🙂 ) But I know this, we are all creative people on this planet.  Living life takes creativity.  Getting through life basically happy takes TONS of creativity. So to anyone out there who thinks they are not creative….and YES, I’m talking to you….get over it.  You are incredibly creative.  You have a voice that we all want to hear.  You have a point of view that will make us all better people to know about. You have reverse body dysmporphic  disorder—and that rocks 🙂

Ok–kind rambly. I blame the phlegm.

2 thoughts on “Funny comes when you least expect it

  1. There are two ways of spreading the light: to be the candle or the mirror that reflects it.
    – Edith Wharton

    I adore this woman.

    She is a wonderful writer.

    I am about to watch Prison Break with my mom, thank you DVD Gods.

    I’m having oral surgery tomorrow morning, I can only hope it is as fun as oral sex, but I am not not holding my breath on that one.

Leave a Reply

