Buddhist thought for the day.

OK–I’m not a buddhist.  But I do get a Buddhist thought of the day courtesy of the fine folks on my Google homepage.  This is the thought for today:

 Holding onto anger is like grasping a hot coal with the intent of throwing it at someone else; you are the one who gets burned. – Buddha

Amen, wait–what is the Buddhist equivalent of Amen?  Anyway…. I have been purging myself of many hot coals lately.  And not by throwing them at others.  Being angry and hurt by other people is a waste of time and ultimately only makes me more hurt and angry.  I have had some “interesting” times in the last year and have learned a lot about myself and my friends.  The main thing I have learned is that we are all better people then we know and that, even when we hurt each other, we still care.  Since it seems as though my teeth grinding may be helped by meditation (thanks Gwac!) perhaps I need to look into this Buddhist thing more.  Afterall, if it’s good enough for Duncan Sheik, it’s good enough for me!

Leave a Reply

